Grass Roots

Copyright 2012 by Mark Alan Wade

Mark's Description: "I began playing the hammered dulcimer in 1989 and the first songs I learned were traditional fiddle tunes. Grass Roots is my seventh CD and I am more excited than ever to return to the roots of my dulcimer journey with over twenty years of playing behind me. You will hear influences from the various stops along my dulcimer journey: Classical precision, wild Bluegrass improvisation, progressive New-grass arrangements, and Irish waltzes."

The core of this CD is the Mark Alan Wade Trio, comprised of Denison University music faculty members: Andy Carlson (fiddle, mandolin), Casey Cook (guitar) and Mark Wade (hammered dulcimer). In addition, this recording boasts some of the most sought-after acoustic musicians in the United States. Bassist Mark Schatz has recorded and toured with Bela Fleck, Nickel Creek, Jerry Douglas, Maura O'Connell, Tony Rice, John Hartford, Emmylou Harris, Linda Ronstadt, and Tim O'Brien. He is a two-time International Bluegrass Music Association Bass Player of the Year award winner. Stephen Seifert is featured on mountain dulcimer and is arguably the most virtuosic mountain dulcimer player living today. Tom Carroll is a legendary jazz guitar player who is featured on Mister Sandman. Craig Markley (of the Celtic bands: Lone Raven and Stark Raven) adds haunting and lyric whistles on Inisheer and Come Thou Fount. Last but certainly not least, Sid Omasta (bassist for the bluegrass band, Death by Banjo, founding member of Stark Raven and current member of Lone Raven) adds his Celtic expertise on Inisheer.

Grass Roots


Track Listing


  • Andy Carlson: Mandolin and Fiddle ++
  • Tom Carroll: Guitar (Mister Sandman) ++
  • Casey Cook: Guitar ++
  • Craig Markley: Tin Whistles
  • Sid Omasta: Bass (Inisheer)
  • Mark Schatz: Bass and Banjo
  • Stephen Seifert: Mountain Dulcimer
  • Mark Wade: Hammered Dulcimer ++

++ Denison University faculty

Liner Notes

  • Recorded from May 2011 to July 2012 at Earthwork Recording Studio, Newark Ohio.
  • Engineered mixed by Brandon Banks.
  • Mastered by Trevor Sadler, Mastermind Productions.
  • Cover Design by Katie Moritz.
  • Produced by Mark Wade.